We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Don't Push Me

by Billy Carter

Beat Up 02:52
I See You 04:54
We All High 02:29
Dead Bodies 03:53
Fear 03:34


Billy Carter is back. The 2nd full-length [Don't Push Me], which contains powerful and clear sounds and messages, is Billy Carter's declaration facing the changes and conflicts around them. They want to talk straightforward through 9 songs in this album about what they are eager for and how they feel about at the same time.

“We are two very different people. However, sharing experiences as friends and band mates for a long time while living in the same era, has resulted in something in common. There became a deep anger and frustration from witnessing and experiencing the endless hatreds and discriminations, and at the same time there became tenacity. Now, I'm going to talk directly, so just except. My stories are our stories and my experiences are our experiences. This world has to change and it is changing. I, we, our voices will change this world.”

Billy Carter returned to the two-member system after releasing the double EP in 2017, but for this album 'Don't Push Me', they worked with two crew members ‘Kong Jin (bass)' and 'Yeonsik Yoo (drums)’.

Throughout this album, Billy Carter sings about me, you, and all of us who have survived a violent society that is overwhelmed by force, outrage, oppression and manipulation. “Your history is my history in that we have shared the same trauma and experienced the same absurdity. We sing head-on to the world. We are convinced that the more we connect, the stronger we become.”

This album begins with ‘Invisible Monster’, which contains a strong will to overcome their traumas caused by abuses. 'My Body My Choice', was written based on the phrase on the banner of the Irish abortion referendum they saw during their European tour in 2018. They used the form of a speech to talk about micro-aggressions sarcastically in ‘I See You', and ‘Fear’ also talks about fobias who reject and hate the people from the other side. The album is filled with 9 songs which make themselves very clear without circumlocution.

The overall sound of the album came from the stories of each song. They drew a scene of joyful moment of solidarity dancing together shouting the messages. To put together the amplification of the things they try to say, the way they feel and all the energy they want to exchange, they tried to make the sounds straight, intuitive and powerful.

Billy Carter is a rock duo composed of the original members -Jiwon Kim (vocal) and Jina Kim (guitar). Dancing and jumping around the stage, they shares the flow of emotions with the audience. Their live performance represents the defining moment of Billy Carter's music. They released their debut EP [The Red] in June 2015, and since then the EP has nominated in 3 sections of 'Korea Music Awards', recommended by 'Naver Music -Album of the Week', 'Music Magazine Y -Artist of the Year', 'and selected as 'K-Rookies 2015' by KOCCA. After releasing their second EP [The Yellow] in January 2016 and the first LP [Here I Am] in the same year, they kept working hard for their musical career at home and abroad. They went on national concert tours, appeared on television live music shows and festivals such as EBS Space, Zandari Festa, and so on. They also went on their first European tour for three weeks including the participation of Primavera Sound Pro Festival in Barcelona, Spain. Since the release of the double EP [The Orange]/[The Green] in 2018, they have been expanding their field of activity by participating in world-famous festivals such as The Great Escape, Liverpool Sound City, Dour Festival, and Rock in Rio.

(This album was produced with the support of the Seoul Cultural Foundation.)


released September 18, 2020

Jiwon Kim : Vocal, Melodica, Percussions
Jina Kim : Vocal, Guitar, Harmonica
Kongjin : Bass, Chorus
Yeonsik Yoo : Drums, Percussions
*Chorus(#3,4,8) : Chae Song Hwa, Kim Min Jung(Ego Function Error), Song-yi(TalkBats!)

Produced by Billy Carter, Mingyu Kim
Recorded by Sanghyun Cho, Hyeseok Oh @MOL Studio
Mixed by Sanghyun Cho @MOL Studio
Mastered by Francis Jihoon Seong @JFS Mastering
Design by Dirty World
Music Video by Sugar Salt Pepper
Executive Produced by Mingyu Kim


all rights reserved



Electric Muse South Korea

We're an indie record label in Seoul, South Korea. We have produced 50 albums so far since 2006.
Contact: electricmuse@naver.com

contact / help

Contact Electric Muse

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Don't Push Me, you may also like: